top of page


Raoul John Njeng-Njeng (born 1 April 1991), better known by his stage name Skales

(an acronym for Seek Knowledge Acquire Large Entrepreneurial Skills), is a Nigerian rapper, singer, and songwriter. In 2000, he started writing rap songs in Kaduna, Nigeria. Between 2007 and 2008, he travelled to Jos to work with Jesse Jagz and Jeremiah Gyang. In 2008, he entered the Zain Tru Search competition and won the competition's North Central region. His debut single "Must Shine" received numerous spin on the Rhythm FM stations in Lagos, Jos and Abuja.

He later relocated to Lagos and signed a record deal with Empire Mates Entertainment (E.M.E) in 2009.

Skales interest in music developed while visiting his mother’s cassette store in his formative age. And in 2000, he started writing rap songs. While in Jos, he met and worked with Jeremiah Gyang and Jesse Jagz who were producers. Later in 2008, he partook in the Zain Tru Search Competition and won in the North Central region. Thereafter, in 2009, he released his debut single Must Shine. Must Shine received a lot of critical review. It topped Rhythm FM charts in Lagos, Jos and Abuja. Also, he released the song Heading for a Grammy.

Skales debut single brought him into the public face. Afterwards, he met with Banky W, co-founder E.M.E. Following their meeting, he signed a record deal with Empire Mates Entertainment (E.M.E).

While in E.M.E, he also partook in the compilation album Empire Mates State of Mind (2012). The album was done by the recording artist which include: Banky W, Wizkid and Skales. However, Skales pulled out of E.M.E in 2014 after the expiration of the contract.

Thereafter, Skales founded his own record label, OHK Music in 2014 and released Shake Body, a lead single from is debut album, Man of the Year. Additionally, he also signed a 5 year deal with Baseline Music label.

In 2017, a sophomore The Never Say Never Guy album was released. It was released under the OHK Music and Baseline Entertainment. The album was a commercial success as it featured A-list Artiste such as PJ Morton, Tekno, Rotimi, Wande Coal, Sarkodie, Burna Boy, Phyno, Lil Kesh, Timaya e,t.c

It is a 19-track album. Some of the songs include; Body Language, Thank God, Mama, For You, Speak my Mind, Give me Love, Loke Loke, e.t.c

Skales released his third debut studio album titled Mr Love in 2018. It was released under the Baseline Entertainment and OHK Music. Mr Love was produced by Chopstix, Echo, Pimp, T.U.C, Princeton and Egarboi. Also, it also top artistes like Tiwa Savage, Cassper Nyovest, Vanessa, Teni, Nezo, Harmonize, Mr Vegas and many others.

It is a 17-track album. Some which includes; Pile Up, One Leg Up, Senrere, More, Anymore, Gbe, Pressure, No Regrets, e.t.c Skales released this album as a result of the unconditional love he got from his mother. So, the album is a compilation of what love means to him in different ways.

All credit source of Information Getty Images, googles

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page